Bugs Thread.

~ OOC forum for the Conquest (Solo) version of the Massacre game, and the Bloodbath (high turnrate) version of the Classic game.

Moderators: Staff, Game Staff

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:10 pm

I'm also seeing that the war flag from Aye hasn't been lifted since my spontaneous death. (Bernia 50006)

edit--and I've not been charged with a death in the score screen. My only death listed gamewise is from Aey from 9/25.

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:59 pm

Looking at the record of turns, your kingdom suddenly loses all land at the same time the enemy kill is recorded. Your not flagged as dead at that point, but logging in with zero land would have auto-killed you because you're under the death level.

I'm not entirely certain why (or even how) you lost your land. It's not as if that was the first ever example of a kill being performed by a kingdom with an ally.

I'll restore your kingdom, just need to be sure you're not logged in, cos if timed wrong you could spend a turn and overwrite me restoring you.
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:04 pm

I know what the cause is.

At point of death, I added code ages ago to reset the networth of a dead kingdom to 0 to ensure it didn't stay in the ranks.

With the recent changes to ranking, I added land and building to that section to do the same job. Unfortunately the flag that makes the update wasn't being reset after the kill.

Basically, when the same script was run to edit your kingdom, that flag was still around and it reset your land, killing you.

Previously it would have caused a phantom reset of networth to zero (not lethal).

Cool bug, which wont happen again :)
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:35 pm

Ok, I've restored your kingdom. I'd use a single turn just to be sure the economy is all good, but you should be ok.

The only thing I couldn't restore was your tithe progress. I ended up using the values of the player who had spent the closest to your turns used. This might have improved or reduced your tithe, but I don't have the previous values to refer to.
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:15 pm

thanks :)

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:46 pm

In the conquest game, each Shattering Calm/Foul light casting is listing code underneath the spell results:

array(8) { ["backlash2"]=> string(1) "7" ["tb5"]=> string(6) "Groves" ["sp3_peasants"]=> string(8) "0.002000" ["sp3_peasants2"]=> string(8) "0.003000" ["sp3_temples"]=> string(8) "0.002500" ["sp3_temples2"]=> string(8) "0.004000" ["dciv"]=> float(30.72) ["kb5"]=> int(0)

Also:

While playing, I've noticed there appears to be a bug in the code for Shattering Calm. After using it several hundred times, I've not gotten a single backlash from it. Foul Light and Rousing Wind backlash with apparent normalcy.

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:00 pm

Sorcery should no longer be dumping that info, I added it to try and understand something and simply forget to remove the dump.

I'm not really sure why backlash isn't seeming to fire for the combined version of the spell. That version ought to backlash more often. I'll take a look

edit

think I found the backlash issue, although to be honest I'd have thought the error I just corrected would have screwed the entire spell.... odd.... a weird mysql bug it seems
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Leif
RAGE >.<
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:00 pm

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Leif » Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:16 pm

Bloodbath

Lightning Lance

Gives response:
"Resource id #10" without game information (success, forts destroyed, etc)
-}}}Dulcius ex Asperis >
Gatekeepers...SUCK?

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:23 pm

Fixed
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:10 am

This is more of a cosmetic bug, but I'm finding it annoying how the page paragraph headers seem to change periodically during war/scum/sorc functions. I'll be clicking away causing what havoc I might on heathens and then the headers change and the execute button is 2 inches away on the screen. It doesn't slow me down a lot, but when I feel like I'm pressed for time, every second counts!

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:31 am

So, Tara sorc killed my elemental kingdom about 5 hours ago. I try to restore and it fails saying "Restore has been left too late."

What's up?

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:00 am

I was able to force a restore by "restarting" and then restoring from there.

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:23 pm

JokingJoe wrote:This is more of a cosmetic bug, but I'm finding it annoying how the page paragraph headers seem to change periodically during war/scum/sorc functions. I'll be clicking away causing what havoc I might on heathens and then the headers change and the execute button is 2 inches away on the screen. It doesn't slow me down a lot, but when I feel like I'm pressed for time, every second counts!
I have no idea what you're specifically referring to. Can you provide me screenshots of headers changing randomly?
Jokingjoe wrote:So, Tara sorc killed my elemental kingdom about 5 hours ago. I try to restore and it fails saying "Restore has been left too late."

What's up?
That message 'should' only happen if there has been no activity that logs the status of your kingdom, for more than 72 hours. Otherwise there should be 'some' sort of restore available.
Jokingjoe wrote:I was able to force a restore by "restarting" and then restoring from there.
There also should not be a difference depending on which screen asks for a restore.

I'll take a look into it.
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:58 am

send me your email, I'll send the comparison pics to that.

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:24 am

I see Nymph was apparently able to declare on me sub 90% w/o being attacked. Or am I missing something?

23rd Jul 2014 - 19:58UTC 50007 806,103 20,000 100% 10006 690,147 17,076 99%
23rd Jul 2014 - 20:06UTC START OF WAR DETECTED
23rd Jul 2014 - 20:06UTC 50007 617,103 20,000 100% 10006 690,147 17,076 99%

This is bloodbath.

Nymphsong
Explorer
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Nymphsong » Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:01 am

Joe,

I think that it is based off of net worth. I promise you that when I declared war, both of my realms were lower in net worth than yours. I dropped my troops attempted to declare and it let me. If there is supposed to be a land (90%) rule Kaz will need to address it.

Nymph
Nymphsong

User avatar
Kaz
Administrator
Posts: 2610
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:27 am
Location: The Vinyards of Fernabergia
Tempers Ball Posts: 3873
Tempers Ball/Braggarts Hall Alt: Kaz
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Kaz » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:44 pm

Look at the kingdoms at the time of declaration, rather than how they looked a few hours before hand. The system detects based on how things are at the point of the declare, rather than how they were previously.

23rd Jul 2014 - 20:06UTC START OF WAR DETECTED
23rd Jul 2014 - 20:06UTC 50007 617,103 20,000 100% 10006 690,147 17,076 99%

Acre-wise, there is an 85% difference, but the declare script doesn't just use acres as a marker. It works like this:

1. Has target kingdom got at least 90% of your land? If yes, can declare war, if no go to 2.
2. Has target kingdom attacked kingdom or an ally within the last 48 hours? If yes, can declare war, if no go to 3.
3. Is target kingdom at war with an ally? If yes, can declare war, if no go to 4.
4. Has target kingdom got equal or greater networth? If yes, can declare war, if no, cannot declare war

617,103 networth is less than 690,147 networth, so the script is working correctly.
Programming is 10% science, 25% ingenuity and 65% getting the ingenuity to work with the science
Wars of Tonan (Monarchy Inspired Miniatures)
Armatures for Sculpting Miniatures

User avatar
Jokingjoe
Second Centurion
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: New Bern, NC
Contact:

Re: Bugs Thread.

Post by Jokingjoe » Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:12 pm

Ugh..I thought you had done away with the networth rule because it is so easily manipulated (ie, Nymph just drops everything to easily fall under networth).

If this is the case, you probably should rework the text on the declare page as it is very mis-leading.

Post Reply

Return to “Conquest & Bloodbath”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest